About Eurovision Asia

November 14, 2017

About Eurovision Asia

A couple months ago, Eurovision Asia Song Contest (EASC) launched their promotional video on Youtube and suddenly, the world seemed more united than ever before, thanks to the partnership between the European Broadcast Union and Australian broadcasters SBS and Blink TV.

After the ESC agreed to allow Australia a slot in 2015, many wondered if China would have a similar opportunity, since the country aired the contest that year and had expressed interest in participating as well. The EBU was quick to shut down any rumors via Twitter, which is why it felt like the Eurovision Asia announcement came out of left field.

The setup of the EASC will be similar to the ESC, where every entrant will sing an original song and showcase their talent. Nine countries have have already expressed their interest in participating and will send their stars to debut when the final airs next year. Those nine countries are: Australia, China, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea and Vanuatu. Until we know for sure who will be competing, we can only guess who’ll be performing.

Who would you like to see at the first edition of the EASC?

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.